Tags

, ,

At some point during the day today, Amazon started a “Big Deal” sale for Kindle books. Lots and lots of stuff from 99 cents through $3.99, including some great titles; the sale runs through July 27. I’m picking up several, in spite of the fact that my already-owned TBR pile is threatening to take over my life. That’s kind of the thing about the Kindle, isn’t it — it makes it beyond easy to just keep adding and adding and adding to your library, since it doesn’t result in actual tripping over actual books all the time.

Here, I’m going to post some of the books I’m planning to buy or, maybe, you know, have already bought. Just a little. You’ll see more on Friday’s Free & Cheap list, I’m quite sure.

Kindle Big Deal Sale Books

The Greatest Knight, Elizabeth Chadwick, $1.99. I really enjoyed For The King’s Favor by the same author, and half-read The Scarlet Lion but will read this first, and then the other. Yes. Quite. I think Chadwick is a talented author of medieval historicals, though Sharon Kay Penman is still the reigning champion in my book. (Get it? My book? I tried.)

 

Hunter’s Run, George R. R. Martin, Gardner Dozois, Daniel Abraham, $1.99. I sort of mostly love GRRM, and this sounds pretty interesting; some reviews promise great character development, for which I am a sucker.

 

 

An Extravagant Hunger: The Passionate Years of M.F.K. Fisher, Anne Zimmerman, $1.99. I never knew this book existed until now, which is sort of a shame, because I love M.F.K. Fisher a whole lot.

 

 

Chop Suey: A Cultural History of Chinese Food in the United States, Andrew Coe, $1.99. This has been on my TBR list for some time now, so why not? Also, I must be hungry. Food books galore!

 

 

Fire in the City: Savonarola and the Struggle for the Soul of Renaissance Florence, Lauro Martines, $1.99. An intriguing time period, and an intriguing character; I don’t know much about Savonarola but would like to know more, and this has good reviews.

 

 

I think that’s probably enough for now, don’t you? My wallet thinks so. But there are so many others….

